The Last Lecture

Thanks to Maria, I finally picked up this book and read.
 
I haven’t finished reading it yet, but the parts that I read trigger some thoughts that I need to write down…
 
Randy talks about his experience of how his football coach trained him:
 
"There’s a lot of talk these days about giving children self-esteem. It’s not something you can give; it’s something they have to build. Coach Graham worked in a no-coddling zone. Self-esteem? He knew there was really one way to teach kids how to develop it: You give them something they can’t do, they work hard until they find they can do it, and you just keep repeating the process."
 
"When we send our kids to play organized sports–football, soccer, swimming, whatever–for most of us, it’s not because we’re desperate for them to learn the intricacies of the sport. What we really want them to learn is far more important: work, an ability to deal with adversity. This kind of indirect learning is what some of us like to call a ‘head fake’."
 
"There are 2 kinds of head fakes. The first is literal. … The second kind of head fake is the really important one–the one that teaches people things they don’t realize they’re learning until well into the process."
 
And he talks about the role of an educator:
 
"…educators best serve students by helping them be more self-reflective."
 
"I’d compare college tuition to paying for a personal trainer at an athletic club. We professors play the roles of trainers, giving people access to the equipment (books, labs, our expertise) and after that, it is our job to be demanding."
 

 
Somehow all these talks sound familiar to me.  I am reminded of how God bas been training me.
 
-Tough lessons: having gone through them makes me feel confident of handling whatever that might come in the future, I think I now understand why there are so many things that cannot be given to us for free, they’re supposed to be learned
-Indirect learning: when I thought I was working towards something very specific, it turns out I got more insights about something that I didn’t intend to learn
-Self-reflective: I am not sure since when I’ve become what I am today… always thinking, always in reflection mode, and I think it should be a good thing
-Demanding: very true… it reminds me of when my dad tried to teach me swim when I was small, he always moved away from me when I ALMOST reached where he was.. I hated that so much and I found him to be very 玩o野… unfortunately, that is the only way for us to grow
Leave a Reply

