Reflection

My GT06 group has a group committment of having each of us send out a reflection for the designated month. Oct is my month. This gives me a good chance to gather my thoughts…
 

 
As promised, I’m going to post my "reflection" . It’s basically thoughts that came to my mind lately. They aren’t very organized, hope you wouldn’t mind =P
 
1. Perception of God
 
Lately I realized one thing that I’ve been doing all along that I really shouldn’t have done. I tend to oversimplify things. I tend to perceive things in only 2 ways: black or white. There are many things that can’t be categorized like that.
 
Lately I realized I’ve been perceiving God in a restrictive way.I tend to test if something fits one category, if it doesn’t fit, I’d automatically assume it belongs to the other category. My mind has been so restrictive to allow for a 3rd possibility. And that’s sooooo wrong. God is almighty and unlimited in every way. We could only see and know Him if we open our hearts. Trying to fit Him to our predefined views is to reduce Him to what He is not. That’s one of the worst possible things that we can do!
 
2. Ecumenism
 
This is one of the intentions that we often hear in the prayer of the faithful when we attend mass. At other times, I don’t really think about it. Last night, I was lucky enough to be able to attend the fundraising dinner of a Christian group called "Across U-Hub" http://www.acrossuh ub.com/ (comes from the same HK Christian org called Breakthrough) . And in there I see how they truly live out their faith, even though they don’t promote their faith explicitly.
 
I have a few Christian friends but I never bother finding out what they do. And I always have this prejudice against them that they are agressive and tend to convert people. After last night, I finally realize we all have a role in achieving Ecumenism. We need to put down our prejudice, humble ourselves, to learn about the other faiths (especially the Christian faith). That’s the very beginning to achieve unity.
 
3. Parents
 
I’ve had worries about my parents, especially my mom, since her health wasn’t very good in the past. And for some resason I had weird dreams one night about her health. It suddenly strikes me that we may not have much time to spend with our parents. (It’s something we’d never want to think about. But we have to.)
 
My friend forwarded a slideshow to me last Friday. I didn’t see it until tonight. My tears fell at no time.
http://parentswish.com/site01/small.html
 
How come it seems so hard to spend a short while to listen to them after a long day (didn’t they also have a long day after work? how come my day seems longer?)?
How come I feel so hard when I have to explain to my mom what an English letter is about?
How come I feel so hard when I have to teach her how to use certain functions in Word?
How come I feel so annoyed when she tells me what to do when I drive?
 
My friend reminded me in her email: stop the judging, start the loving.
One thought on “Reflection

  1. VEN says:

    HI RoaaaRoaaa, it\’s me again! Tho I\’m not in your groupie, really wanted to comment! Thanks for this beautiful sharing…
     
    on 1: That\’s a very interesting realization, I have never thought about it that way, but seems like you\’re making real progress on being closer with God, and listening with your heart! Thanks be to God!
     
    on 2: I found the same thing through chatting with a co-worker (who is Christian!). He was the one who was able to start asking about my faith and talking about his faith without holding back. At first, I felt defensive, because I felt like I would be under attack and worried I wouldn\’t know how to defend our church. But what I realized was that we respect each other\’s religion, and we CAN have open conversations which actually helped me strengthen my own faith! And then I found out that my other co-worker is a Buddhist and he had was interested in learning about my faith and I was in his! Yes, ppl in my workplace is pretty awesome! Unity is achievable!
     
    on 3: Yes, it is so true. I have this problem all the time, you know I always complain when Mom calls. I don\’t know why it\’s so hard to listen to her instead of saying "ok, bye" 10 times. I am trying hard to hold a real conversation now, and I truly truly think I should go home sooon the more I think about it.

Leave a Reply

