Knowing more about God

I didn’t really understand the meanings of today’s readings, so read again online… New American Bible is really good, with nice explanations in the footnotes. The first reading (Hosea 2:16-17, , 21-22) ended with this line:
 
I will espouse you in fidelity, and you shall know the LORD.
 
And the footnote says "It means not an abstract but a practical knowledge, i.e., acknowledgment of his will, obedience to his law."
 
I remember on the other day, I read that it’s impossible to love something/someone unless you know it/him/her. It seems like I don’t even know God yet, coz from the above description, to know him means to acknowledge his will, and obey his law <= I always wonder what’s God will.. it seems like I always follow my will instead.
 
One song that fits this moment…
 

Open The Eyes Of My Heart

Open the eyes of my heart, Lord
Open the eyes of my heart
I want to see You
I want to see You

Open the eyes of my heart, Lord
Open the eyes of my heart
I want to see You
I want to see You

To see You high and lifted up
Shinin’ in the light of Your glory
Pour out Your power and love
As we sing holy, holy, holy

Open the eyes of my heart, Lord
Open the eyes of my heart
I want to see You
I want to see You

Open the eyes of my heart, Lord
Open the eyes of my heart
I want to see You
I want to see You

To see You high and lifted up
Shinin’ in the light of Your glory
Pour out Your power and love
As we sing holy, holy, holy

(Repeat two more times)

Holy, holy, holy
We cry holy, holy, holy
You are holy, holy, holy
I want to see you

Holy, holy, holy
Holy, holy, holy
You are holy, holy, holy
I want to see you

Holy, holy, holy
Holy, holy, holy
Holy, holy, holy,
I want to see you

(Repeat five more times)

2 thoughts on “Knowing more about God

  1. Maria says:

    I think I learned this from one of Edmond Lo\’s lectures: the word "know" in the Bible is a more intimate relationship than the contemporary meaning of the word.   In the bible, when asked "Do you know this woman?" it means whether you have intimate relationship with this woman~  so I think that kinda explains why "know" God includes "obedience to his law".. hope I am right! haha~

  2. Louise says:

    Hey I LOVE that song.
    I first heard it with Fr. Ching playing it with the guitar in GT04.
    It stuck in my mind.
     
    "I always wonder what\’s God will.. it seems like I always follow my will instead."I need to work on that too, that is one of the things I\’ve reflected and realize that it\’s time to do something about it.
    Let\’s work hard together on our flaws!!

Leave a Reply

