My weekend

This weekend turned out to be more 精彩 than I thought~ Spent quite a lot of $$ too , but they’re spent in good ways I guess…
 
Friday night
The special BSP session on "how to study the Bible" is really good~ Many topics were covered… About the Canon of the Bible (the list of the books to be included), about the different version of Catholic and Protestant bibles (Edmond Lo’s pick for English Catholic bible is New American Bible, Chinese is of course 思高), and the demo of how to use the Strong’s Concordance (Kings James Bible (Protestant) searchable by keywords) was funny too  And I realize I should really get a copy of the catechism… After hearing this session, I realize if I really want to memorize what I got from the bible, note-taking is a must… Really gotta work on that
 
Saturday
I’ve thought of getting guitar lessons for so long… I first thought about it like last Jun or sth  I finally registered for classes!!! Starting on March 2nd… Hopefully with someone correcting me (and forcing me to practice) I’d get some improvement!!! After going to register for my classes ($18 per lesson… for 3 months = 大出血#1) I went to Future Shop to check out the Canon S2IS (for some weird reason, I fell in love with it instantly after I first saw it during Fri lunch @ Metro Sq.) Future Shop had it set up but you couldn’t really take pic with it… It looks pretty cool… But I feel guilty to really get it, coz I don’t take pics often… And I got my last camera is less than 2 years ago
 
For dinner, surprisingly we went to 金鳳… a tea restaurant… Sis was saying she really wanted to eat 海南雞飯, after dad banned going to 金象, he suggested we should go to 金鳳 instead, for it serves really good 海南雞飯… And it was really good wor! We ordered 2 of that, curry beef brisket, some 魚翅骨豬骨墨魚丸米線, and grilled escargots with mashed potatoes (now that while I’m typing what we ordered, I found out it’s such a weird combo of food…hahahaha) And all the food was very good lor~ Wah, how much do I love this tea restaurant… Will definitely go more often
 
Then went to WCCC2… When I got there, there were 4 of us (2 being the owners of the home)  Then I was like, let’s play MJ?  Luckily more ppl showed up afterwards, and we ended up having ppl! We watched the end of super while waiting for ppl (with hocc… yea!) Then we watched "In the Name of the Father", one of the specials of 始 終 係 天 主  produced by the HK diocese (btw, the theme song was sung by 葉麗儀)… It talks about what names does God have, and what do the names imply~ Then the next episode addresses some of the FAQs, why does evil exists? why do we have sufferings etc… One part is very touching… It talks about a couple finally having their baby… after 3 miscarriages… The couple taught their kid to say good morning to the 3 elder brothers/sisters everyday… They’ve got a painting with 3 kids there… The mother explained the names given to those 3 kids… And the dad talked about how he hid in the hospital washroom to cry… Arrgg… After watching the video… We played a bit of guitar (hmmm… John played most of that.. coz I don’t play well  Hopefully my guitar lessons will help!!!) Then we chatted for sooo long!! And the guys played with the pro cameras… And we had chocolate… Can’t believe we left at 12:30!!
 
Sunday
After yum cha, mom and I looked at phones @ New MongKok, coz hers failed to ring at times… After going back to bug the girl for a few times, we finally bought the phone with prepaid card… So she finally gets a color photo phone la… And that’s my 大出血#2
 
This afternoon I went to Paul, Bonny and Seto’s sharing session about their Jamaican trip… The Missionaries of the Poor is indeed amazing~ I can’t imagine how these brothers could leave their homes (they could only go back to visit after like 6 years… 10 years… ) and just work among the poorest… day after day… Their sharings might sound funny (about how to stop breathing b/c of the smell, the 蝦碌 stuff of handling this and that…) but those brothers work there everyday.. with hardly anything (shoes are so 爛 but they wear them w/o complaints)… I won’t spoil all the details (esp the most overwhelming ones…), coz they’re going to hold a public sharing session at CMC on March 5th (Sun) after 2 pm mass at Don Bosco Hall. Come and hear their experiences!! I’m just gonna share a few lines of the song that we sang at the end of the sharing… The brothers there truely live out the lyrics:
 
Yours is my life,
I abandon all I am to you my God.
Yours are my hands,
Oh yours are my feet.
My heart and soul are yours my Lord and God.
Your love and grace are everything I need.
3 thoughts on “My weekend

  1. Jessica says:

    woah! what an amazing weekend you\’ve had! It\’s an interesting feeling as I read through it.. the things that you mentioned… are somewhat related to what I was doing, yet us two are indeed completely separated. I know.. u\’re probably like, "huh?" right now… I meant… The how to study Bible thing on Friday.. I saw it on the bulletin board on Sunday morning when I was there at CMC.  The WCCC2 meeting.. I seriously thought of going. So was Drew Drew.  I saw Drew and turned out because of fundraising and turne out that both of us couldn\’t make it. The Paul and Bonny sharing… I met up with Anthony in late afternoon… and I think he told me that he met up with them two for lunch (We saw each other at CMC b4 lunch time.. but I had to rush to meet up with my family for lunch). Maybe these events aren\’t really that related…! haha.
     
    btw, thank you soooooooooooo much for the Leung Chuk VCD! I watched it! It\’s amazing! I don\’t find the story bothering me too much tho.. it\’s not really a story about homosexuals I find.. coz in the very end, it\’s still just because of the love btw the buy and girl instead of those two guys… the ending of how Chow Kwok Yin actually love "ah jou" as he is… doesn\’t make any sense.. but anyway. I like some of the ideas about relationships/love that they mentioned throughout the musical.

  2. wanda says:

    ooh u getin guitar lessons soon ar..add oil ar..think ull learn quick la since u play at masses too isnt it?

  3. Rosa says:

    i don\’t play at mass!!! =P i play in my faith group (not = mass) … lots to learn ar…

Leave a Reply

