“We support but we don’t test”

Just 0.5 more day! I’ll get out of my first full-time job

I expected I’d stay for a few years…or at least just try to switch
jobs internally… because I’m a person who hates to change… Changes
introduce lots of stress for me (yes, and that’s why I’m boring…).
I’m glad that I actually 把心一橫on the eve of turning 25, to make the
decision of searching for jobs… I guess I always need some stimuli
for taking relatively rash action (I remember I decided to go pierce my
ears after being stimulated by getting 42% in my 341 midterm Note that the stimulus usually has nothing to do with what I do in the end, I just need something to stimulate my nerves).

On this second last day, I heard this classic quote: "We support but we
don’t test"… This is one of the most ridiculous things that I’ve ever
heard. What happens is that this software is supposed to support *just*
10 platforms (many of them are new for the coming release, whereas the
ones that were fully tested have been removed from the official suport
list). And with the current timeframe, it’s impossible to finish
development, let alone testing on the platforms. When we raised that
there’s no way to test these platforms given the time, and he replied
by making that remark. I couldn’t help but inched him by saying "we
support something by saying we support".

As my last day with this team draws closer, I become more convinced that I made the right decision to leave

4 thoughts on ““We support but we don’t test”

  1. wanda says:

    Good to hear that you have no regrets…Although changes are hard to accept sometimes, its not necessarily bad….All the best with your new job…And have a great Christmas break ~ enjoy your ski trip 😀

  2. Rosa says:

    OH thanks thanks wandini =D Wish you have a happy bday soon… hehhehe

  3. Kevin says:

    Careerwise, I think it\’s always good to make a move instead of staying. You got to see more new things and especially if you are given a chance, why not??

  4. wanda says:

    Happy New Year 🙂

Leave a Reply

