Rome Sweet Home

 
I ordered 3 books by Scott Hahn last Sunday… During the ride from Kingston Prison visit, Silvester mentioned briefly about his books… that they’re not hard to read. And after going to BSP for a few years, I believe it should be pretty worthwhile to read them. I picked up Rome Sweet Home to start with, because I’m really curious about how he as a Protestant pastor eventually converted to a Catholic scholar… Once I picked up the book, I find myself really eager to read on  I haven’t finished it yet, I’m about halfway through… at the end of the "horror story" part.
 
This book has a very powerful introduction (it’s actually someone else’s quote I just found out): The late Archbishop Fulton Sheen once wrote: "There are not over a hundred people in the United States who hate the Roman Catholic Church; there are millions, however, who hate what they wrongly believe to be the Catholic Church." How true! Although I still don’t know very well about the Catholic faith, I know very well that the Church is so misunderstood by many people… Sometimes it seems like there’s no way to defend the Church with arguments that people would buy… Oh well…
 
The book tells a story about how Scott & Kimberley as a couple, walked the journey that eventually leads to their conversion from Presbyterian to Roman Catholic. I like how the readers could see things from both perspectives. It’s interesting how Scott describes what he went thru as first being a detective story (investigation with the Bible/theological text to find out the real meaning of the Word of God), which later turns into a horror story (struggling whether the Roman Catholic Church is really true, and trying to avoid the humiliation of having to convert), and eventually turns into a love story (truly coming to embrace the Catholic Church). And Kimberley sees stages of their journey as 4 seasons~
 
One of the things that struck me the most is how Scott treats the Bible with so much respect and how he could study and meditate over the same Bible passage for so many times… I haven’t read much religious/theological books before… Many of the ideas/doctrines that I heard/read from great scholars I kinda naively assumed they were from miraculous divine inspirations. Now as I read thru his journey, I know it took a lot of his persistence/prayers/struggles for him to come to conclusions to any questions that he had. He stayed really open with his mind to accept nothing but the truth, even though he knew what he’d find out wouldn’t be what he wanted (i.e. the truth that he wants lies within the Cathlic Church).
 
This book talks about many doctrines (with Biblical references to most) including: baby baptism, real presence of the Eucharist, contraception, the whole salvation history being a convenant, sola fide (justification by faith alone), sola scriptura (God’s word being in the Scripture alone) etc… It’s a great start for anyone who would like to know the Catholic/Protestant faith more…
 
Although I’m only halfway thru the book, I highly recommend it to everyone!!! I got it from indigo (free shipping for order over $39): http://www.chapters.indigo.ca/item.asp?Item=978089870478&Catalog=Books&Ntt=Rome+Sweet+Home&N=35&Lang=en&Section=books&zxac=1
Leave a Reply

